Heads up from China

Laura Dover, Bob Chen and I all got panda hats at the Ming Tomb on our first full day in Beijing.  Credit: Lundie Spence.

I’m spending 2 weeks in China, and I’m in the middle of my stay here! The first week was devoted to exploring what connecting ocean scientists and graduate students with the greater public here in China. You can read more on our blog here.

This week I’m working on a couple of stories for The World, which I’ll put together upon my return.

We visited the Great Wall on our first day here. A young Chinese man came up to me to take his photo with me. I told him “wo Ari,” thinking it meant “I’m Ari.” But he said: “I love you!” Apparently “wo ani” means “I love you.” Now I know to say “wo jiao Ari.” Ah, well!

~ by Ari Daniel on March 15, 2010.

One Response to “Heads up from China”

  1. Ari Shapiro – Holy cow. It’s Jenn Stanis from Teal group days at ELP. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard you on NPR now and thought “I wonder if that is the Ari I know” and it turns out it is! So cool to see you profiled on the BC newsletter for March. I always knew you’d be up to big things kid! Hope you’re well and best wishes! Jenn

    Like

Leave a comment